|
Other Holiday Resources
The Worldwide Holiday & Festival
Site
http://www3.kumc.edu/diversity/ethnic_relig/advent.html
(from Latin adventus, "coming"), in the
Christian church, a period of preparation for the celebration of
the birth of Jesus Christ at Christmas and also of preparation for
the Second Coming of Christ.
What is Hanukkah?.
http://www.harperchildrens.com/holiday/hanu.htm
Presents information about Hanukkah, also known
as Chanukah, an eight day religious holiday
celebrated by the Jewish people to honor the victory
of the Maccabees over the Greeks in order to
preserve the Jewish heritage. Notes that the
information is taken from the HarperCollins
Publishers children's book "The Story of
Hanukkah." Includes information about what
Hanukkah means, as well as when and how Hanukkah is
celebrated. Provides recipes for latkes, which are
potato pancakes. Links to information about
Christmas and Kwanzaa.
|
Happy Chanukah!.
http://users.erols.com/saftyrma/chanukah.htm
Presents information related to Chanukah, also known as
Hanukkah, an eight day Jewish holiday commemorating the victory of
the Maccabees against the persecution of the Greek Syrians and the
miracle during the rededication of the Holy Temple in Jerusalem.
Explains that there was only enough oil in the Temple to light the
Eternal Light for one day, but the oil lit the Light for eight
days. Includes information about the Menorah. Links to information
about the Jewish holiday of Sukkos.
Jewish World Review (JWR): Chanukah.
http://www.jewishworldreview.com/chanukah.html
Presents the full-text, online version of the
"Chanukah" section of the December 10, 1997 issue of
"Jewish World Review" (JWR). Provides information about
Chanukah, also known as Hanukkah, an eight day Jewish holiday that
celebrates the victory of the Maccabees over the domination of the
Greek Syrians and the miracle that took place during the
rededication of the Holy Temple. Offers access to five full-text
essays and a coloring book page and puzzle. Includes information
about the significance of the holiday for Jewish identity. Links
to the current issue of "JWR," an online magazine
published twice monthly.
Pesach (Passover) (March 31-April 8, 1999)
Passover is a holiday that commemorates the liberation of the
ancient Israelites from 400 years of slavery in Egypt
(approximately 3000 years ago). Since that time, the holiday has
come to represent the universal value of freedom. It is the
holiday where family and friends gather around the seder table to
celebrate. This year (2000), Pesach starts on the night of April
19.
Jewish Outreach Institute:
Celebrate Pesach
Valley Beth Shalom: Hagaddah
for Passover
Features information on Passover, presented by Valley Beth Shalom.
Discusses the Seder, lighting the candles, and the Four Questions.
Also includes songs.
Jewish Heritage
Online Magazine
Presents information on the Jewish observance of Passover,
translated by F. H. Colson and featured in the "Jewish
Heritage Online Magazine" (JHOM). Discusses the significance
of unleavened bread in Jewish history.
The Festival of Sacrifice, 'Eid ul-Adha, is celebrated throughout
the Muslim world as a commemoration of Prophet Abraham's willingness
to sacrifice everything for God, including the life of his son
Ishmael. Because God spared Ishmael, substituting a sheep in his
stead, Muslims commemorate this occasion by slaughtering an animal
and distributing its meat among family, friends and the needy as a
special act of charity for the occasion.
Hajj and Eid ul-Adha
Kwanzaa
(December 26, 1999 - January 1, 2000)
Presents information on Kwanzaa, an African American holiday.
Notes that the principles used in the celebration are meant to be a
year-round way of life. Offers access to a chat area and suggestions
on how to celebrate the holiday. Includes a national Kwanzaa
activities calendar. Examines the background, focus, purpose, and
goals of Kwanzaa. Describes its symbols and lists related books for
children. Contains a Swahili dictionary and links to other Kwanzaa
Web sites.
Presents access to recipes designed to be used in the
African-American holiday of Kwanzaa. Offers information about
ingredients, preparation instructions, and suggested serving sizes.
Includes recipes for dishes such as black-eyed peas with ham, sweet
potato fritters, peanut soup with okra croutons, benne cakes, and
African tomato-avocado-buttermilk soup.
Everything About Kwanzaa.
http://www.tike.com/celeb-kw.htm
Presents information on Kwanzaa, an African American
celebration with focus on the traditional African values of
family, community responsibility, commerce, and self-improvement.
Notes that Kwanzaa is neither political nor religious and is not a
substitute for Christmas. Details the seven guiding principles,
one for each day of Kwanzaa. Offers information on gifts, the
Kwanzaa feast, decorating the home, and supplies needed for the
celebration.
|
Presents information on the Christmas traditions from around the world.
Discusses Christmas celebrations in Denmark, Portugal, Eskimo Christmas, and
Belgium. Includes Danish Christmas songs and information on Christmas in the
United States, including gift giving, stockings, visiting family, Christmas
traditions, Christmas foods, Christmas trees, carols, mistletoe, and Santa
Claus. Highlights Christmas in Norway, Russia, Hawaii, New Zealand, Sweden,
Chile, Canada, Chanooka in Israel, England, and Finland.
Christmas Traditions in France and in Canada.
http://www.culture.fr/culture/noel/angl/noel.htm
Presents information on Christmas traditions of France and Canada.
Describes various family celebrations, communal festivities, and religious
ceremonies. Examines the origins of the nativity. Details Christmas in the
Middle Ages. Highlights midnight mass, carols, the 12 days of Christmas,
and other traditions. Offers access to a bibliography and a French version
of the site.
Carols of Christmas.
http://www.osmond.net/chill/christmas/carols/
Presents songs and carols related to the Christmas holiday season.
Provides the words to more than 600 Christmas songs and traditional
carols. Lists the songs in alphabetical order. Includes a FAQ section.
Links to sites containing Christmas songs, audio clips of Christmas songs,
and non-American Christmas carols.
Presents information about Ramadan (Ramadhan) and
the Eid ul-Fitr. Notes that Ramadan is a holy month in which the first
verses of the Holy Qur'an (Koran) were revealed to the prophet Mohammad.
Explains that Muslims fast from dawn to sunset daily during the Ramadan
until the sighting of the new moon, which signals the celebration of Eid
ul-Fitr. Includes information about when Ramadan and Eid ul-Fitr begin.
Links to sites related to the Ramadan
|
|
Presents information on Rosh Hashanah, one of the Jewish tradition's
holiest days which marks the beginning of the new year. Discusses other
names for Rosh Hashanah. Provides Torah readings and stories. Discusses
traditions related to Rosh Hashanah, including food, Tashlich, giving
Tzedakah, and blowing the shofar. Links to the Jewish Outreach Institute (JOI)
home page and other resources on Rosh Hashanah.
Holidays on the Net: A terrific interactive
site that includes explanations, sound and graphics of some of the holidays
celebrated in America, including Jewish holidays and the Muslim holiday of
Ramadan, as well as Christmas, Thanksgiving and several secular holidays,
such as Mother's Day. Its Halloween page has a section about Mexico's Days
of the Dead.
Presents resources on Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, provided by Ohr
Somayach International. Contains essays, humor, a quiz, and audio files.
Lists the laws of Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. Offers access to questions
and answers from a Rabbi on related topics. Links to the Ohr Somayach
International home page.
Presents information on the Jewish holidays Elul, a time to prepare one's
self for the coming year, and Rosh Hashanah, the first day of the month of
Tishrei marking the beginning of a new year. Contains a series of articles
on the customs of Elul and Rosh Hashanah. Links to the Project Genesis, Inc.
home page.
The Essence of Kol Nidra by Rabbi Sholom Tendler (An Oral
Essay on Kol Nidra).
Yom Kippur. [top]
http://www3.kumc.edu/diversity/ethnic_relig/yomkippr.html
St. Patrick's Day [top]
St. Patrick, Patron
of Ireland
Profiles Saint Patrick (385-461), the patron saint of Ireland. Highlights
his capture and enslavement in Ireland, his escape, and his missionary
activities in converting the Irish to Christianity. Explains the theological
meaning of the shamrock. Links to a prayer by Saint Patrick.
Legend of St. Patrick
Legend of the Shamrock
Easter on the Net - Story
of Easter
Features a history of the holiday and discusses the symbolism behind Easter
eggs and the Easter rabbit.
Purim on the Net - The Story of Purim
Explore the Story behind the Festive Celebration of Purim. Learn about
Queen Esther, King Ahasuerus, Mordechai, and Haman.
Celebrate with Jewish
Outreach Institute: Purim
The Megillah of Esther is read in the synagogue after the evening service
on the Eve of Purim and again on the morning of Purim. The story
of Purim is full of human interest and excitement. |